The first week of candidate filing for the 2020 elections ended Friday without a single Democrat filing to run for office in Iredell County.

Meanwhile, five Republicans have thrown their hats in the ring in the race for three seats on the Iredell County Board of Commissioners.

Incumbent Gene Houpe was joined by challengers Scottie Brown, Raymond Burnette, Melissa Neader and Ryan Pegarsch, ensuring that there will be a GOP primary on March 3.

Candidate filing ends at noon on December 20.

In other local races, incumbent William Howell has filed for re-election for the District 2 seat on the Iredell-Statesville Board of Education, and Doug Knight, another Republican, has filed paperwork to run in District 4. No candidate has filed in District 6.

In the N.C. House races, incumbent Rep. Jeff McNeeley is running in the 84th District and Grey Mills, a former representative, is running in the 95th District.

Sen. Vickie Sawyer also filed in the 34th Senate District.

Meanwhile, David Johnson, a Statesville Republican, has filed to run in the 10th Congressional District.

%d bloggers like this: