Special to Iredell Free News

EnergyUnited has announced the recipients of two college scholarships awarded through the cooperative’s Empowering the Future Scholarship program.

Jacob Eroh of Pine Lake Preparatory and Emma Regan of Central Davidson High School will each receive $5,000 scholarships to cover qualifying educational expenses as they begin college classes this fall.

Jacob Eroh

Eroh plans to attend Queens University of Charlotte this fall to study pre-occupational therapy. He is the co-founder of HOPE’S Wing, a nonprofit organization that supports cancer patients and their families through fundraising and scholarship opportunities.

Eroh is also a Unified Partner for Special Olympics Iredell County and has volunteered as a mentor coach for The Falcons youth rugby team.

Regan will be attending UNC-Chapel Hill this fall to study biomedical engineering. Her volunteer experiences notably include efforts to build makeshift mattresses using plastic bags for individuals facing homelessness, and she also supported the Corinthian Project by making homemade cards for individuals who are battling cancer. Regan was also captain of Central Davidson High’s Swim and Golf teams.

Emma Regan

“Jacob and Emma have demonstrated academic excellence and a genuine passion for community service,” said Marilyn Lineberger, corporate communications manager for EnergyUnited. “EnergyUnited is pleased to help support the next chapter of their academic studies.”

This year marks the seventh year that EnergyUnited has offered college scholarships through its Empowering the Future program. All seniors who live in a residence or attend a high school served by EnergyUnited are eligible to apply each year. EnergyUnited will begin accepting applications next year on January 1, 2025.

About EnergyUnited

EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina with 140,137 member connections. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of 19 counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit EnergyUnited online at www.energyunited.com to learn more about your local electric cooperative.