Special to Iredell Free News

During the Stony Point Volunteer Fire Department’s annual banquet, the red carpet was rolled out to recognize all the hard work and dedication of firefighters, medical responders, auxiliary, the Board of Directors and honored guests.

The SPVFD bays were transformed to a movie them to help guests feel like stars. A slideshow representing activities from the past year, along with members’ photos, was shown during the event. The department’s newest addition, Engine 2, was on display. Boxcar Grille in Claremont catered the meal.

During 2023, the department responded to 445 calls in Alexander and Iredell counties. The department had 2,101 training hours with 22 members completing the minimum of 36 required hours. The auxiliary provided on-scene rehab and support on 12 calls, which included mutual aid responses to the City of Statesville and Town of Mooresville.


SPVFD Award winners for the 2023 year included:

♦ Medical First Responder Award presented to Colby Cockrell;
♦ Officer’s Award presented to SPVFD Captain and Training Officer Jacob Abernathy;
♦ Firefighter Award presented to Jacob Campbell;
♦ Auxiliary Award presented to Lindy Cockrell;
♦ Chief’s Awards presented to SPVFD Assist Chief Chad Cockrell and Jerry Knox; and 
♦ A Battalion 1 Chief Helmet presented to Tyler Stafford

The SPVFD Board of Directors received special recognition, along with retired SPVFD members. Bookkeeper Donna Cockrell was also thanked for her time and dedication. Additional thanks was given to all those who’ve shown love, support and dedication to SPVFD and to the community during events from the past year.

SPVFD 2023 Award winners (pictured from left) are Battalion 1 Chief Helmet presented to Tyler Stafford; Officer of the Year Award winner Jacob Abernathy; Medical First Responder Award recipient Colby Cockrell; Auxiliary Award recipient Lindy Cockrell; Chief’s Award winners Chad Cockrell and Jerry Knox; and Firefighter Award recipient Jacob Campbell.
The SPVFD had 22 members who completed the minimum required 36 training hours, including (from left) Matt Hartsoe; Parker Downs; Rosa Torres; Tyler Stafford; Joe Cannon; Justin Manning; Colby Cockrell; James Abernathy; SPVFD Captain and Training Officer Jacob Abernathy; Garren Smith; SPVFD Captain Justin Combs; SPVFD Captain David Benge; Noah Johnson; SPVFD Lieutenant Andrew Johnson; Keith Rufty; SPVFD Assist Chief Chad Cockrell; Jacob Campbell; and SPVFD Chief Scotty Abernathy.
Pictured are SPVFD Auxiliary members (seated from left) Matthew Gibbson, Bud Tatum and Nate Dalton; second row: Geraldine Dalton; SPVFD Auxiliary Co-Secretary Donna Cockrell; Lindy Cockrell; Hope Johnson; Kayla Gibbson; Ashley Manning; Kim Tatum; and SPVFD Auxiliary Co-Secretary Savannah Prevette; third row: Auxiliary President Donna Abernathy; Autumn Norman; Michele Hardin; Auxiliary Social Director Connie Meredith; Auxiliary Treasurer Katie Abernathy; Auxiliary Vice President Janet James; and Sthr Dagenhart.