Special to Iredell Free News

The following Mitchell Community College employees were honored at the College’s virtual assembly on Wednesday, August 12:

5 Years of Service

♦ David Bullins, Vivian Easterling, Jessica Harris, Peggy Haynes, Teresa Jordan, Jenny Leamon-Smith, Justin Leonard, Ginny Little, Michelle Money, Molly Nicholson, and Betsy Patterson

10 Years of Service

Parks Collins, Donna Hogue, Myra Lewis, Eric Nielsen, Amanda Patterson, Arthur Piervincenti, Kent Shoffner, Samantha Willis, and Kelly Wisdom

15 Years of Service

Tim Brewer, Ryan Cannon, Aspen Chang, Kim Dixon, David Galliher, and Mark Smalley

20 Years of Service

Denise Benfield, Candace Cooper, Todd Martin, Rita Taggert

25 Years of Service

Judy Phillips, Linda Wiersch

R.D. Grier Excellence in Education

Rita Taggert (Faculty); Christina Hare (Adjunct Faculty); Samantha Willis (Professional/Para-Professional/Technical); Darlene Tucker (Support Staff); Jasper Wagoner (Facilities Staff)

In 1986, the Fanjoy family established the R.D. Grier Excellence in Education Award in honor of R. D. Grier’s devotion and contribution to the longevity of Mitchell Community College. Grier, before his death in 1993 at the age of 104, tirelessly served for many years as a charter member and chair of the Mitchell College Foundation. Earnings from the Grier Excellence in Education Endowment, with support from the Board of Trustees, make it possible for the College to honor outstanding members of its staff each year for exemplary service in the categories of Faculty, Adjunct Faculty, Professional/Para-Professional/Technical Staff, Support Staff, and Facilities Staff.

About Mitchell Community College

Mitchell Community College serves 9,000 students annually through a variety of curriculum, continuing education and workforce development programs. With campuses in Statesville and Mooresville, Mitchell offers quality, affordable education options to residents of Iredell County and the surrounding area. For more information, visit www.mitchellcc.edu or call (704) 878-3200 (Statesville Campus) or (704) 663-1923 (Mooresville Campus).

%d bloggers like this: