The Republican Party continued its dominance in Iredell County on Tuesday as GOP candidates prevailed in every partisan race, including the race for three seats on the Board of County Commissioners and four races for seats on Iredell-Statesville Schools Board of Education.

All results are unofficial until they certified by the Iredell County Board of Elections.

Board of Commissioners

Two newcomers, Brad Stroud Sr. and Bert Connolly, won four-year terms on the Board of Commissioners and incumbent Gene Houpe won a two-year term.

Stroud garnered 45,305 votes and Connolly received 44,552 votes. Houpe finished third with 42,111 votes.

Democrats Frank Johnson (20,152) and Michell Goree (17,576) finished third and fourth, respectively.

I-SS Board of Education

Republican candidates captured all four open seats on the Iredell-Statesville Schools Board of Education:

♦ In the District 1 race, Brian Sloan (6,422) defeated write-in candidate Max James.

♦ In the District 3 race, Abby Trent (3,280) outpolled Democrat Sarah Pittman (3,126).

♦ In the District 5 race, Mike Kubiniec (5,210) defeated unaffiliated candidate Billie Spevak (2,633).

♦ In the District 7 race, Anita Kurn was unopposed.

Other Local Races

In other local races:

♦ Sheriff Darren Campbell, a Republican, was unopposed and won a third term.

♦ Republican incumbent Jim Mixson was re-elected clerk of superior court. He was unopposed.

♦ Republican Renee Holland won her first term as register of deeds. She was unopposed.

♦ Matthew Pence and Dennis Leamon were elected Iredell Soil and Water Conservation District supervisors.

 N.C. General Assembly

♦ N.C. Sen. Vickie Sawyer, a Republican, was re-elected in the 37th District. She was unopposed.

♦ N.C. Rep. Jeff McNeely, a Republican, was re-elected in the 84th District. He was unopposed.

♦ N.C. Rep. Mitchell Setzer, a Republican, was re-elected in the 89th District. He was unopposed.

♦ N.C. Rep. Grey Mills, a Republican, was re-elected in the 95th District. He garnered 22,399 votes and defeated Amanda Kotis, a Democrat, who received 10,617 votes.

U.S. Senate

♦ In the U.S. Senate race, Iredell voters backed Republican Ted Budd (46,387 votes) by a wide margin over Democrat Cheri Beasley (21,096). The race was too close to call. With 2,067 of 2,655 precincts reporting statewide, Budd led by about 120,000 votes.

U.S. House

♦ In North Carolina’s 10th Congressional District, incumbent Rep. Patrick McHenry (48,326 votes) easily defeated Democrat Pam Genant (20,474) in Iredell County. With 173 of 177 precincts reporting across the district, McHenry was headed for an easy victory Tuesday. 

3 thoughts on “How Iredell Voted: Unofficial Results from the November 8 election

Comments are closed.