Iredell-Statesville Schools FFA students who earned the American FFA degree were recently recognized by the school board. Pictured (from left) are Lauren Irby, Lauren Crawford, I-SS school board member Bryan Shoemaker, Superintendent Jeff James, Board member Doug Knight, Hanna Ball, Zack Cartner and Courtney Elledge.


Six Future Farmers of America members from North Iredell High School and one from South Iredell High School have been presented with the American FFA degree, the highest honor an FFA member can receive.

The South Iredell student is Hanna Ball. The school’s FFA advisor is Lauren Crawford.

The North Iredell students are Ryan Baldwin, Davis Brown, Zack Cartner, Courtney Elledge, Preston McLain and Chanler Speaks. The FFA advisor at North Iredell is Lauren Irby.

Iredell-Statesville Schools CTE Director Tim Woody recognized the students and advisors at the February 14 school board meeting. The school board presented the students with certificates recognizing their achievement.

Each year the National FFA Organization honors FFA members who show the utmost dedication to the organization through their desire to develop their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

About the FFA Degree

The American FFA Degree is bestowed upon a select group of students in recognition of their years of academic and professional excellence. To be eligible, FFA members must have earned and productively invested $10,000 through a supervised agricultural experience (SAE) program in which they own their own business or hold a professional position as an employee.

Recipients must also complete 50 hours community service and demonstrate outstanding leadership abilities and civic involvement through completion of a long list of FFA and community activities. Less than one percent of FFA members achieve the American FFA Degree.

%d bloggers like this: