Special to Iredell Free News

The Statesville Fire Department honored more than 50 individuals at its recent awards banquet, making up for several years of postponed events by recognizing firefighters, promotions, certifications, and retirements.

The banquet, held at the Statesville Civic Center, allowed nearly 175 honorees and family members to celebrate SFD’s accomplishments.

Chief Weatherman was very pleased with the turnout and “the whole atmosphere” of the evening. He praised the Awards Committee for their work on the banquet and thanked the South Iredell High School Future Farmers of America members who assisted in serving the meal.

New Hires

Fifteen new hires since 2020 were pinned: Jon Bajek, Ryan Hall, Bryan Morris, Cameron Witherspoon, Stephen Church, Darren Wagoner, Carson Snyder, William Akins, Ryn Franklin, Ryan Harrison, Cody Moore, Amanda Trotta, Benjamin Lagle, Jeffery Edwards.

Pictured (from left) are Bryan Morris, Jon Bajek, Cameron Witherspoon, Amanda Trotta, Stephen Church, Ryan Harrison, Ryan Franklin, Ryan Hall, William Akins, Cody Moore, Benjamin Lagle, and Jeffery Edwards.

Firefighter 1

Receiving recognition for earning their Firefighter 1 designation were: Isaac McCurdy, Steve Taylor, Adam Sparks, Scott Mitchell, Joe Taylor, Brandon McLain, Brett York, Hunter Baynes, Jacob Belk, Tanner Goodin, Richard Gregory, Garrett Meacham, S. Moore, Hunter Swicegood, Zach Hinson.

Pictured (from left) are Scott Mitchell, Joe Taylor, Richard Gregory, Zach Hinson, Isaac McCurdy, Brandon McLain, Jacob Belk, Garrett Meacham, Hunter Baynes, and Adam Sparks.

Master Firefighter

Firefighters receiving their Master Firefighter Certificates were Brett Compton, Matt Harpe, Troy Josey, Shane Schantzenback, Cameron Witherspoon, Marshall Spillman, Justin Yox. Lt. Neil Stutts was recognized for earning the Master Lieutenant designation.

Pictured (from left) are Justin Yox, Marshall Spillman, Lt. Neil Stutts, Matt Harpe, and Cameron Witherspoon.


Since 2020, the following individuals were recognized for their promotions and administered the oath of office by Statesville City Manager Ron Smith: Chief Andy Weatherman, Deputy Chief Glenn Kurfees, Assistant Chief Kyle Bell, Captain Wayne Hill, Captain Rawdy Cox, Captain Walter Horne, Lt. Matt Thompson, Lt. Ben McLain, Lt. Brian Baity, Lt. Landon Russ, Lt. Colton Orrell, Lt. Josh Deal.

Family members stood with their fire officer as City Manager Ron Smith administered their oaths. Pictured (from left) are Ron Smith, William Wilson, Andy Weatherman, Glenn Kurfees, Kyle Bell, Wayne Hill, and Matt Baity.
Pictured (from left) are Josh Deal, Landon Russ, Walter Horne, and Matt Thompson.

Recent Retirees

The most recent retirees honored were Fire Marshal Ed Hodges, Captain Christopher Menster and Captain Calvin Stovall. A special plaque, featuring a firefighter ax, was presented to these individuals, as well as other retirees who had not received one.

Retirees present for the event (from left) were Lewis Alexander, Chris Stikeleather, John Perry, Tony Collins, Bull Hall, and Stuart Wells.

1 thought on “Statesville Fire Department celebrates employee achievements

Comments are closed.