MacDowell Music Club recently honored Emily Ervin, Rachel Spencer and Josephine Bunch Sande. Pictured (from right) are Rachel Spencer, Josephine Bunch Sande and John Ervin, who represented his mother, Emily Ervin.

Special to Iredell Free News

MacDowell Music Club recently held a Special Honorees Program at Broad Street United Methodist Church in Statesville to recognize the contributions of three long-time members.

Those honored were Emily Ervin, Rachel Spencer and Josephine Bunch Sande.

During the program several of each lady’s favorite musical selections were performed by various club members and special performers. Those participating were MacDowell Music Club President D. J. Fuller, Rev. Fred Sanford, William Shuford, Jonathan Lodgek, the MacDowell Music Club Chorus and Friends, Zack Hugo, Jim Hittepole, Kelly Hutchinson, Doris Swaim, Dr. Marie Speece, Susan Rickert McLain, Melody Morrison Beaty, Kay Peeler and Teresa Moore Mitchell.

Afterwards a reception was hosted for the honorees in the church fellowship hall.

Donations for the MacDowell Music Scholarship Fund were collected in honor of these multi-talented ladies who have shared their love of music, to countless individuals in the Iredell County and surrounding areas.

Club Photos

MacDowell Music Club Past Presidents attending the event (from left) were Alberta Armstead, Carol Windsor, D. J. Fuller (current President), Rachel Spencer, Josephine Bunch Sande, John Ervin (who represented his mother Emily Ervin), Rev. Fred Sanford and Dr. Marie Speece.

MacDowell Music Club’s current officers (from left) are Secretary Doris Swaim, Treasurer Carol Windsor, Vice President Kay Peeler, President D. J. Fuller and Past President Rev. Fred Sandford.

About the MacDowell Music Club

The club was born in 1907. It fosters music appreciation with scholarships and music activities such as concerts, festivals, workshops, teacher conferences, and variety shows. Everyone is welcome to join. Learn more online at

1 thought on “MacDowell Music Club honors long-time members for contributions to club, community

Comments are closed.