Special to Iredell Free News

The EnergyUnited Foundation has donated more than $100,000 to regional food pantries through its Drive to Shine campaign.

Three nonprofits in Iredell County — Yokefellow Ministry of Statesville, Fifth Street Ministries and Matthew 25 Ministries — received a total of more than $19,000.

The foundation recently presented “Drive to Shine” grants to food banks in Alexander, Forsyth, Mecklenburg, Rockingham and Yadkin counties.

“It was quite an honor to be able to meet with representatives from these five food banks to learn even more about their efforts to eradicate food insecurity in their communities,” said Debra Citta, administrator of the EnergyUnited Foundation. “Each community has faced their own set of unique challenges during the crisis but the common solution to these problems has been cooperation from community leaders and public servants alike who worked tirelessly to extend a helping hand to others.”

In addition to these five donations, the Foundation has also disbursed all remaining checks for its Drive to Shine campaign recipients. 

Food Pantry Contributions

The EnergyUnited Foundation is a voluntary, member-funded non-profit organization supported by EnergyUnited’s Operation Round-Up program. More than 80,000 EnergyUnited members choose to participate in the program by ‘rounding up’ their electric bills each month. Members can enroll in the program by calling our Customer Care Team or by emailing EU-Communications@energyunited.com. The maximum monthly contribution for an individual member with one account is 99 cents. Each of these contributions are pooled together in a single fund managed by the EnergyUnited Foundation to support needy individuals, families, and non-profit organizations that complete an application explaining the reason and purpose for their requested grant.

About EnergyUnited

EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving nearly 130,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. To learn more about The EnergyUnited Foundation and EnergyUnited’s Operation Round-Up program, visit www.energyunited.com/givingback.

%d bloggers like this: